The full, formal title is “University of Georgia Cooperative Extension.”

It is incorrect to use “the” before UGA Extension, the informal title. Note that “Service” is no longer a part of the name.

Part of the nationwide Cooperative Extension System, UGA Extension is coordinated by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and the College of Family and Consumer Sciences in partnership with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Fort Valley State University, and state and local governments.

UGA Extension is divided into four districts: Northeast, Northwest, Southeast and Southwest.

First references to UGA Extension county offices should be “University of Georgia Cooperative Extension in (Name of county) County” and should be “(Name of county) County Extension” on second reference. If “University of Georgia Cooperative Extension” has previously been referenced with no county name, but the second reference to UGA Extension requires a county name, use “(Name of county) County Extension” on second reference.

On Second Reference

UGA Extension