Always use the word “the” with the noun “University of Georgia,” except in lists of institutions. When “University of Georgia” is an adjective, “the” is not needed.

The university’s main and health sciences campuses are located in Athens. The university also has extended campuses in Tifton and Griffin and Gwinnett County. The Terry College of Business has an extended campus in Atlanta for three MBA programs.

On Second Reference

UGA or the university.

CapitalizationUGA Campuses